CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > Applications > CoCreate Modeling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2010, 07:56 AM
thegroover thegroover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Screw thread giving bad stl files

Hi , I'm having a problem with a screw thread that looks fine on CoCreate but the stl file is full of problems and can't be used . The main problem seems to come because the thread has been cut into laterally and the cut edges have corrupt facets. Any ways round this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2010, 11:35 PM
thegroover thegroover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
stl files of screw

I hope it's Ok to post here as well as PE forum - I'm having problems making usable .stl files of a cylinder that has a screw thread added and has then had chunk cut out of it .The model looks fine in CoCreate but the .stl file shows lots of corrupt edges , especially but not only where the thread has been cut. Is this avoidable ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2010, 02:22 AM
clausb's Avatar
clausb clausb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,168
Re: Screw thread giving bad stl files

Without sample data, it's hard to answer your question.
__________________
CoCreate Modeling FAQ: http://www.clausbrod.de/CoCreateModeling/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2010, 05:18 AM
MichaelA MichaelA is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 40
Re: stl files of screw

One thing that I have found with stl files is that you need to refine the facets on the faces before you export. I have done b spline surfaces in the past that look terrible in stl until they have been refined. I've done the refinement in steps of factor of 4 and then redo the export and evaluate. the more you refine the larger the stl gets so you may not want or need to refine to the max allowed. try that and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2010, 06:22 AM
Mike Swartz's Avatar
Mike Swartz Mike Swartz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 322
Re: Screw thread giving bad stl files

STL data is not created from the actual 3D Model data. It comes from the faceted data. What you see on the screen is what is exported to the STL file.

That is why STL is the only export format available in CoCreate Modeling Personal Edition.

For a better STL file, you will need to refine the facets of your part before exporting to STL.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2010, 12:44 PM
John Scheffel's Avatar
John Scheffel John Scheffel is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,288
Re: Screw thread giving bad stl files

I merged the thread "stl files of screw" into this thread so we don't have two parallel discussions of the same topic with people answering in both. The other thread should now redirect to this one.
__________________
John Scheffel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2010, 01:19 PM
BMaverick's Avatar
BMaverick BMaverick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee, U.S.A.
Posts: 267
Re: Screw thread giving bad stl files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Swartz View Post
STL data is not created from the actual 3D Model data. It comes from the faceted data. What you see on the screen is what is exported to the STL file.
SHOCKING

If I have a poor resolution video card, my STL file will be junk compared to the 3D Model data. Screen displays are not at all acurate.
__________________
Support Your Local Sheriff - At high noon

Jason: "How much does it pay?"
Citizen: "Well, none of our other sheriffs ever lived long enough to find out."

Co-Create 2007 (15.50G)
ANSYS Workbench 14
SolidWorks 2011
UGNX-7.5 / TeamCenter UA 8
PADS 2000
Applicon Bravo
Autotrol
CADAM
Pro/E
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2010, 10:58 PM
clausb's Avatar
clausb clausb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,168
Re: Screw thread giving bad stl files

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMaverick View Post
If I have a poor resolution video card, my STL file will be junk compared to the 3D Model data.
Nope. We're not talking about the displayed pixels, but about the graphics model internally calculated by CoCreate Modeling, which is the same for any type of graphics hardware.
__________________
CoCreate Modeling FAQ: http://www.clausbrod.de/CoCreateModeling/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:54 PM.



Hosted by SureServer    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.