CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > Applications > Enhancement Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:42 AM
gormie gormie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Lightbulb Configurations - Transfer Position

The ability to transfer the position of a transition between configurations would be a good added function of configurations.

If one considers a room with two doors, the easiest way to show the three variations of doors open (both doors open, door A open and door B open) within various configuration is to create the both doors open transition first then copy the configuration and remove data ie part positioning info for each of the other two variants.

We have various sub assemblies that have multiple positions that are routinely used from our MM database. Yes I can copy the configuration from the sub assembly to the root assembly but we then have to all the work again of arranging the transition of multiple different sub assemblies.
The use of multiple positioning to see the transition still means one has to do the work again of moving the parts. Hardly efficent since the information is still part of the model. Yes at a different level but the ability to transfer the positional information between two configurations would be an asset. Improving efficiency using configurations.

Being able to transfer drawlists and camera position already are useful but not being able to transfer the transition would be a good progression. Over writing any conflict in transition or some such rule would be a good thing too since with consitiant behaviour one could work around any conflict etc.

There does not appear to have been any improvement in configurations in the last few years to even v16.5 modelling we currently operate.

This is not pushing the limits of what configurations do, it is adding to the function. I just want more effieciency it feels a waste of time some times to arrange one configuration then have to do similar things again at a later date.

Last edited by gormie; 02-16-2010 at 01:45 AM. Reason: Current Version
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:25 PM
BMaverick's Avatar
BMaverick BMaverick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee, U.S.A.
Posts: 267
Re: Configurations - Transfer Position

You may need to put in an enhancement request directly to CoCreate. The forums here are mainly user support by users of Cocreate, however there are a few CoCreate support employes that check these forums from time-to-time. So, your request may not go any higher than this thread.

As a user of CoCreate, I totally understand your request of being able to show vairous configurations up the assembly tree to the master assembly. I have several stamped parts that get folded and clinched together at various steps in an assembly. Some univeral brackets we have get tabs folded while used in other families the tabs are for locating and clinching.

We are doing all of this without MM.

I cheat by importing SAT copy files in and out of the various assemblies. There is no Master Model approach to solving this that I'm aware of.
__________________
Support Your Local Sheriff - At high noon

Jason: "How much does it pay?"
Citizen: "Well, none of our other sheriffs ever lived long enough to find out."

Co-Create 2007 (15.50G)
ANSYS Workbench 14
SolidWorks 2011
UGNX-7.5 / TeamCenter UA 8
PADS 2000
Applicon Bravo
Autotrol
CADAM
Pro/E
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2010, 10:13 AM
Wolfgang's Avatar
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... near Sindelfingen near Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 711
Exclamation Re: Configurations - Transfer Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMaverick View Post
however there are a few CoCreate support employes that check these forums from time-to-time.
not only support employees.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:15 AM.



Hosted by SureServer    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
You Rated this Thread: