PDA

View Full Version : Creating a helix

snowbell
01-05-2010, 07:55 AM
Hi,

I am trying to create a helix inside a hollow cylinder. I followed the steps in the given example: Removing helical volume from an existing part, provided in the help topics. However, I am unable to obtain what I want. Sometimes, the part of the cylinder which is supposed to have the helix in the inner part totally disappears. Anyone have any idea why?

I'm using CoCreate Modeling PE 20.0.0.34.

gmatelich
01-05-2010, 10:38 AM
One guess would be that something about your helix isn't fully intersecting your cylinder. you could try making your helix longer than it needs to be - set it up so it starts before your cylinder and ends after than the cylinder.

If that doesn't work, perhaps you could add a picture of your setup.

snowbell
01-06-2010, 07:23 AM
Hi,

I'm sorry but I'm still very new in creating 3D models, so I don't really understand how to make the helix intersect properly. Is that some way to adjust the 'radius' of the helix? Attached is a screenshot of the cylinder after I clicked the preview button after creating the helix by removing material.

Thanks a lot for your help!

John Scheffel
01-06-2010, 09:18 AM
It still isn't clear to me what you are trying do. I don't see how the workplane in the image could be used to cut a helix in that cylinder.

Typically the workplane used to cut a helix would pass through the axis of the cylinder. The radius of the helix is controlled by the position of the 2D profile in the workplane relative to the Axis selected in the Helix Rem menu.

Think of the workplane 2D profile as a cutting tool that defines the shape you will cut along a helical path. The profile must be perpendicular to the helical path you want to follow. The Helix Rem menu defines how that shape will be moved along a helical path.