PDA

View Full Version : Part change and suggested file structure

K3Ellkabong
11-02-2009, 09:52 AM
I have been using CC PE for about 6 months now, and have an ok understanding of how modeling works. I tend to design multiple parts (starting from scratch) in an assembly fashion - meaning, I use the dimension of one part to determine the positioning and dimensions of other parts. I would then save each part as a package (.pk2). Now, during the annotation phase of an assembly, I may notice that one or more parts need to be altered (change a dimension or add material). Now this new file is saved as a bundle (.bd2). Any changes to the parts in this file are not reflected on the original .pk2 file. Even if I create an annotation for just one part and save as bundle - any changes in the bundle file are not reflected in the original .pk2.

I am not suggesting this is a problem with CoCreate, I know it is just my understanding of how CoCreate works. How should I organize my parts/assemblies/drawings so that if I change a part's shape, it will automatically be saved in the original? To be more explicit - I save the individual parts (.pk2) so that I can use them in other assemblies, and save assemblies as my finished work (.pk2). Or should I just forego the whole .pk2 and save every part and assembly as a bundle (.bd2)?

Same concept - it sorta confuses me when I 'load' a .pk2 file, do some changes, and during the save, CoCreate asks me the file name. I would assume that CoCreate should know the original file information and save it there. I have accidentally overwritten other parts in the past because of this. Also, when I save the file, the disk icon next to the part does not go away, suggesting that the changes have not been saved.

Please let me know if you need more information from me.

Thanks.

BMaverick
11-02-2009, 12:12 PM
Working in the regular full version of CC, I avoid using PKG and BDL files since the filing has gotten plenty of us into trouble.