PDA

View Full Version : Structure Browser Contents

richard800
09-08-2008, 07:47 AM
Total newbie to CAD.

When I close a loaded file the Viewport window dissappears. Then I think the file is no longer loaded. But the Strucrure Browser still shows Parts and Workplanes, although unticked. If I open another file it sometimes wants to reletter the Parts etc in Structure Browser.

Okay, so, when or how does a loaded file get unloaded from the program? Do I have to manually delete what is in the Structure Browser? Is that how you close a file? Thanks.

richard800
09-08-2008, 07:51 AM
Just to clarify, I always think closing on an "X" closes an opened file or the program. It appears that closing on the "X" just closes the Viewport, but that the file is still loaded in the program.

Andy Poulsen
09-08-2008, 09:03 AM
Hi,

You are correct -- clicking the "X" on the viewport only closes that viewport. All model data is still stored in the system until you actually delete the models/workplanes/etc. This is actually a very nice way to do things, as you can have multiple viewports open at once (which can provide great flexibility).

You are correct that it's different from most other non-CAD applications, but I think once you get used to it that you'll find that it works well.

You are also correct in your other assessments -- loading another file (without deleting the current data) may result in the newly loaded objects getting new names to avoid naming conflicts. The ability to allow new objects to be loaded alongside existing objects provides great flexibility so that you don't have to have all of your parts and assemblies stored in the same file (which can easily allow for part re-use).