PDA

View Full Version : Module parametric

luigimilano
11-15-2003, 12:22 AM
I've tried to create a valid parametric relation in a model (see attach) but I stop first become crazy. Text file in the attach is a table of 3 option than can be combined with various value of d variable.
Can anyone help me?

Thanks
Best Regards

John Scheffel
11-17-2003, 11:02 AM
I'm not a Relations expert, but I took a look at your model and believe the problem is that you are using inconsistent contraints on the part. You have rad1 controlling the radius of a blend, and dist1 controlling the vertical height of the same blend, but they are trying to set two different values (r and r-t1). This is not possible, the height of the blend must be the same as the radius. dia1 and dist2 are also in conflict. The location of the circle where dia1 meets the conical surface will be determined by dia1. As dia1 changes, this circle will move up and down because the angle of the conical surface will not change, so you cannot control the location of the circle with dist2. If you deactivate or delete dist1 and dist2 the relations will work.

luigimilano
11-17-2003, 09:58 PM
Thanks John for your time.
The attach image show the table I want obtain. The model is an internal groove but external is similar. The goal of dist1 relation is to traslate the face not the blend, r-t1 is an axial constraint (see the attach). I meet very difficult to traslate conical face along axial direction so the relation dist2 want to do this but fail.
Any suggest is welcome.

Best Regards

John Scheffel
11-18-2003, 10:26 AM
If I understand correctly it seems that you want to use parametrics to make changes which would require creation of new surfaces and/or deletion of existing surfaces. I don't think this is possible with parametrics, I believe you can only modify existing surfaces. Any relations experts out there who know otherwise?

luigimilano
11-18-2003, 09:43 PM