PDA

View Full Version : command for toggling Show Face Color


Jim McKim
05-14-2003, 05:19 PM
I had a toolbar button for a command to toggle showing face colors on/off, which I lost during a WinNT profile reset to solve a problem with another application ( I had exported my customizations, but they were exported to my profile!) :mad: So now, I'm trying to recreate the command but can't remember how I did it the first time. "Record" doesn't capture the toggle effect I'm after. I looked in the command reference Help and couldn't find anything on controlling the showing of face colors. Anyone here have this in their bag of tricks. Thanks, Jim

Markus
05-14-2003, 09:50 PM
Hi Jim,

the action behind your toolbar button should be:

(ui::uic-set-show-mode :3dgeo_face_color :toggle)

Hope this helps.

Markus

ingo walter
05-15-2003, 01:13 AM
Hi Markus,

could the same syntax work on wireframes? (I need this often before exporting STL-files)

thanks in advance!

Ingo

Markus
05-15-2003, 03:51 AM
Here is what the internal documentation says:

(defun uic-set-show-mode (mode1 mode2 &optional vport)
;; mode1 might be:
;; a. a simple set_show keyword like :3dgeo
;; b. a list of set_show keywords: '(:3dgeo :3dgeo_wire)
;; c. a set_show keyword list and a state: '(:3dgeo :on :3dgeo_wire :off)
;; mode2 might be:
;; A. one of: :on, :off, :toggle
;; B. a set_show keyword list and a state: '(:3dgeo :off :3dgeo_wire :on)
;; Behavior:
;; a.+A. sets or toggles set_show mode
;; a.+B. not allowed
;; b.+A. sets or toggles each single mode
;; b.+B. not allowed
;; c.+A. not allowed
;; c.+B. toggles set_show modes in both lists depending on the first
;; set_show mode in list c. That means the state of the first
;; element in list c. is considered and according to its state
;; all other set_show modes are set regarding c. or B.


Quite impressive capabilities, right?

The easiest way to get the set_show keywords is to use the Recorder and record any Show Setting changes.

Hope this helps.

Markus

Jim McKim
05-15-2003, 11:11 AM
Thanks, Markus. I see now that it is the same form as toggling face transparency. I think this command should be in the stock command set. -Jim