PDA

View Full Version : Annotation does'nt start when SD started from a .bat file

hgn98009
04-01-2003, 05:16 AM
Hi, my problem is that I need to start SD from a batch file that sets up a number of parameters. This seems to work beautifully as long as I don't try to start Annotator which causes SD to freeze.

I have minimized the sources of error by changing directory to the "start-in" directory and running the exact .bat file that SD's start icon is referring to.

If I get this to work then I should be able to do any needed modification to my own batch file, but the error stays the same.

Suggestions please, I'm new to using SD on PC's.

John Scheffel
04-01-2003, 07:56 AM
We use a custom batch file to start Modeling and it works fine. My best guess is that your batch file is setting some parameter that interferes with Annotation. You might try starting with a batch file that does nothing except run the command to start SolidDesigner and see if that works. If it does, start adding your other lines until you find the one that causes the problem.

You might also want to take a look at the batch file which is used to start Annotation to see if it provides any clues. It is:

<install_dir>\binNT\startAnnotator.sh.bat

In the past we have found that if there are any problems running this batch file that Annotation will hang and never come up.

If you tell me which version of SolidDesigner you are running, I can provide some batch code that we used to start that version. The command seems to change with every major release. It might also help if you attach your batch file so people can review it. You will have to chagne the name to something like "filename.txt" since the ".bat" extension is not allowed for attachments.

Wolfgang
04-01-2003, 08:06 AM
Hi hgn98009 (a real (first) name would be nice ;) )
start Annotator which causes SD to freeze.
describe. How does it look like, black VP area, did you already see the Annotators Splash screen (the colored Co|Create sign)?