PDA

View Full Version : Exploded Assemblies in Modeling

cherry
02-21-2003, 10:57 AM
Does anyone use OSD Modeling to create exploded assemblies as may be used to create service manual drawings? Are there any built in functions to do this in OSD Modeling 11.60 or add on modules?

Thanks,
Pete Cherry

tim heeney
02-21-2003, 11:36 AM
Pete,
I am new to OSD still running v11.0.
Investigate 'forum jump/enhancements for CoCreate( about 5th item down):'modeling:add formations to UI'
This will help. Sorry i have no practical experiance to offer.
Tim.

May Kung
02-21-2003, 12:03 PM
If you're referring to a command that will "autoexplode" the assembly for you, no, I do not believe OSD Modeler has this capability. At least, release 9 doesn't have it, and I haven't heard that 11.X does.

What we do when we need an exploded view is we use the Formations command (it's supported, but it is not in any of the standard menus, so you'll have to load it; online help should explain how to do this).

The general sequence is as follows:

1. Select New in the Formations menu.
2. Define a name and owner (this should be the owning assembly).
3. Do not close the windows that open and start moving parts until they are in the right location. Using Dynamic positioning or Co-Pilot makes it easier.
4. Once all the parts are where you want them, click Accept.
5. You will be asked if you want a Relative vs. Absolute. The only difference I've found is Relative lets you adjust the relative distances separating your parts later.
6. Save the formation.
7. Save your PKG or solid to preserve the formation.
8. In Annotation, you have to use the Exploded goodie (similar to Formations). This allows you to create an exploded view. You have to specify which Formation to use.

The above works in SD9; I don't think the sequence has changed in OSD 11.X.

jkramer
02-24-2003, 02:11 AM
Maybe I misunderstand the question, but we use an unsuppored lisp-tool, that you can find in