CoCreate User Forum  

Go Back   CoCreate User Forum > Applications > CoCreate Modeling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2010, 05:57 AM
Hudsm001 Hudsm001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Lofting?

Hi Guys, how can I loft from a circle to profile to a hexagon profile?

so that it is all one part!

Thanks,

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2010, 07:14 AM
tom kirkman's Avatar
tom kirkman tom kirkman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perrysburg, Ohio
Posts: 329
Re: Lofting?

Matt

Yes you can loft from a circle to a hex or any other shape. However the circle profile must be "broken" so that it has the same number of verities as the other profile. So if you are going to a hex, the circle must be broken into 6 pieces.

Where the breaks are is important so that you get the correct shape after lofting.

Tom
__________________
Tom Kirkman

Creo Elements/Direct 18.1
DELL Precision T3600
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:48 AM
BMaverick's Avatar
BMaverick BMaverick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee, U.S.A.
Posts: 267
Re: Lofting?

Tom,

Thanks! I had a gut feeling that would be the case since every CAD system I've been on requires this same approach.
__________________
Support Your Local Sheriff - At high noon

Jason: "How much does it pay?"
Citizen: "Well, none of our other sheriffs ever lived long enough to find out."

Co-Create 2007 (15.50G)
ANSYS Workbench 14
SolidWorks 2011
UGNX-7.5 / TeamCenter UA 8
PADS 2000
Applicon Bravo
Autotrol
CADAM
Pro/E
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2011, 04:03 PM
nitintiwari28 nitintiwari28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Re: Lofting?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom kirkman View Post
Matt

Yes you can loft from a circle to a hex or any other shape. However the circle profile must be "broken" so that it has the same number of verities as the other profile. So if you are going to a hex, the circle must be broken into 6 pieces.

Where the breaks are is important so that you get the correct shape after lofting.

Tom
Tom, Could you please explain step wise. I tried everything but couldn't do it!
Thanks for your help.
Regards,
Nitin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2011, 06:20 AM
Gary Brauch Gary Brauch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 220
Re: Lofting?

To split a circle, select "Modify 2d > Split".

Then you have some options, you can split it manually (must have some other geometry crossing at the points where you want to split it), or you can do it into equal sections by selecting "segments" in the menu. For a square, you'll need 4 segments.
It will split it into equal length sections. You might have to rotate it to get what you want.

You can see where it's split by turning on Vertices in the Show menu under workplanes.
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:25 PM
nitintiwari28 nitintiwari28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Re: Lofting?

Hi Gary,
Thanks for your reply.
Gary, I tried again. Even after splitting circle into four parts, I'm unable to loft from rectangle / square to that circle.
I can create ML between circle vertex and rectangle in other plan but as soon as I select loft command, ML disapperas.
I tried many times before asking you again.
Regards,
Nitin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:34 PM
nitintiwari28 nitintiwari28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Re: Lofting?

Hi Gary,
I got it!
Thanks for your help.
Regards,
Nitin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2011, 04:57 AM
tom kirkman's Avatar
tom kirkman tom kirkman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perrysburg, Ohio
Posts: 329
Re: Lofting?

Nitin

Did you accept the match line by clicking the center mouse button?

I can send you a video of how to do this if you would like.

Regards

Tom
__________________
Tom Kirkman

Creo Elements/Direct 18.1
DELL Precision T3600
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:31 PM.



Hosted by ZeonHost    Forums   Modeling FAQ   Macro Site   Vendor/Contractors   Software Resellers   CoCreate   Gallery   Home   Board Members   Regional User Groups  By-Laws  

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.